top of page

DIY // WALL WREATH

"Scout by Abicus", a store in Newcastle, has this awesome shop front/interior (shown in the image above). On the wall behind their counter, they have a massive flower wreath made out of native bush flowers by "Little Wren Flowers". I loveeee it so much and because I recently started a floristry course I thought I could give it a shot and make my own. Here's how:

You Will Need:

2 x bunches of greenery (different variety)

1 x hoolahoop

1 x role of tape

1 x scissors

2 x wall hooks

I started by collecting the greenery I was going to use. I decided not to work with flowers because they would die quickly and make a mess on my floor! Above, I have some baby Eucalyptus leaves on the left and just your ordinary Sword Fern on the right. There were some bushes on the side of the road, in which I collected these cuttings from haha!

Next, I grabbed an old hoolahoop and took off its outer pink and sparkly covering. ;)

Then, I stripped about 5cm off the ends of greenery.

Next, I taped the leaves to the hoolahoop like so ^.

It should begin to take shape. Overlap the foliage so the tape gets covered up!

Once I finished the wreath I stuck my hooks on the wall and hung the wreath in place! Wa-lah!!

(I did add in the ferns later, but I actually like it better without the ferns).

 

bottom of page